Seton Medal Award | Mount St. Joseph University

The St. Elizabeth Seton Medal is named in honor of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, foundress of the Sisters of Charity, the congregation that established Mount St. Joseph University in 1920 and today continues to sponsor it. The University established the Seton Medal in 1966 in honor of the Mount’s 75th anniversary and to recognize distinguished women in theology.

Recipients are selected for their contributions to an area of theology, including scripture, systematics, spirituality, ministry, and historical theology. They must possess a doctorate in a related field and be distinguished by a career in higher education for excellence in teaching and/or making a major contribution to scholarship within the field.

Past Recipients

  • Mary Ann Hinsdale, IHM, 2017
  • Sung-Hae Kim, SC, Th.D., 2016
  • Gloria Schwaab, SSJ, 2015
  • Judith Merkle, SND de Namur, 2014
  • Christine Firer Hinze, 2013
  • Dolores R. Leckey, 2012
  • M. Shawn Copeland, Ph.D., 2011
  • Barbara P. Reid, O.P., Ph.D., 2010
  • Regina Bechtle, SC, 2009 
  • Mary Elsbernd, OSF, 2008 
  • Margaret Farley, RSM, 2007 
  • Mary Jo Weaver, 2006 
  • Joan Cook, SC, 2005 
  • Elizabeth Dreyer, 2004 
  • Diana Hayes, 2003 
  • Sandra Schneiders, IHM, 2002 
  • Lisa Sowle Cahill, 2001 
  • Elizabeth Johnson, CSJ, 2000 
  • Patricia O'Connell Killen, 1999 
  • Mary Ann Donovan, SC, 1998 
  • Pheme Perkins, 1997 
  • Monika Hellwig, 1996




See All


See All