Mount St. Joseph University announces two award recipients of the 2020 St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Mission Award.  

Mount St. Joseph News


Mount St. Joseph University announces Janet Cox, Dean of Students and Shirley Sanders, Buildings & Grounds as recipients of the 2020 St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Mission Award.


In 2001, the Mission Committee established the St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Award, the highest mission honor bestowed by the University, to honor and recognize those who live out the mission day after day in an exemplary manner. The individuals honored distinguish themselves by “daring to risk a caring response” in their service to the Mount community.


“Receiving the Elizabeth Ann Seton Mission Award is very humbling and meaningful to me,” says Janet Cox, Dean of Students.  “I knew that the Mount was a special community when I decided to move from Denver to Cincinnati in the summer of 2013 to accept the position as Dean of Students.  I knew it was the right path for me and now starting my eighth year as a staff member, I am still impressed by our mission, our students, my colleagues across campus, alumni, the Sisters of Charity, and the collaboration that occurs to make things happen.  It truly is a special place.  I am happy to contribute my talents to help our students learn, grow, and lead.”


Sister Karen Elliott, C.PP.S., Director of Mission Integration and Chair of the Mission Committee shared that the awardees exemplify the spirit of the Mount through their caring ministry to students, staff, faculty, alumni and visitors to the Mount.  "St. Elizabeth Ann Seton responded to the needs of the people she encountered in her time," says Sister. Karen.  "Janet and Shirley have inspired the Mount community as they have done the same in our time."