Mount St. Joseph University

Department of Athletic Training Recognizes Seniors and Award Winners

Academics, Sports

File Under: department of athletic training

Athletic training group.

The Department of Athletic Training at the College of Mount St. Joseph welcomed John Schrader, HSD, ATC; Clinical Professor of Athletic Training and Assistant Dean of Student Affairs at Indiana University  School of Public Health Bloomington, as the keynote speaker for their annual Scholars Night on Monday, April 28.

Schrader, a member of the National Athletic Trainers’ Association Hall of Fame, spoke to Mount AT students, faculty, and Advisory Board members on forging a career path in a changing healthcare environment.

“Dr. Schrader has served as a leader for over 40 years and been intimately involved in the growth and development of athletic training through significant changes.  As our  students consider their next steps in their careers paths, I was pleased to welcome him to challenge and encourage them into leadership roles in their profession and their communities”, commented Dr. BC Charles-Liscombe, Chair of the Department of AT.

Following the keynote address, senior students presented their senior research prospectus projects in a poster reception.  The projects have been under development throughout the 2013-2014 academic year and are intended to prepare students for graduate study theses and research projects at their next employment setting. 

Award Winners

At the end of the evening, the AT program announced its annual award winners and recognized its graduating seniors.

  • Rookie of the Year Award – Katie Seither
  • Rookie of the Year Award - Sam Barth
  • Sophomore Outstanding Clinician Award – Taylor Ruder
  • Sophomore Outstanding Academic Award – Adrien Brooks
  • Junior Outstanding Clinician Award – Alex Logan and Samantha Turner
  • Junior Outstanding Academic Award – Kyle Sterwerf
  • Senior Outstanding Clinician Award – Brandon Polking
  • Senior Outstanding Academic Award – Shelly Pohl
  • Senior Peer Educator Award – Kayla Wuest