January 2013 | Mount St. Joseph University

Welcome to the following new employees at the Mount:  Staff members Amy Wolf, admission; Aaron Goebel, athletics and recreation; Rasheena Cheatham, Upward Bound.

Congratulations to Brooke Gialopsos, assistant professor of sociology and criminology, and her husband on the birth of their son, Theo, born Dec. 13, 2012.

Karen Holtgrefe, associate professor of physical therapy, was awarded the 2012 James Dunleavy Distinguished Service Award from the acute care section of the American Physical Therapy Association. This award recognizes those who have made a substantial contribution to the acute care section.

Charles Kroncke, dean of the division of business, was elected treasurer of the Cincinnati Economic Organization, the Cincinnati chapter of the National Association of Business Economists at the Nov. 30, 2012 meeting. This event was attended by more than 75 local business leaders.

Charles Kroncke, dean of the division of business, co-authored the paper, “Educational Attainment and the Gender Wage Gap: A comparison of Young Men and Women in 1984 and 2007,” which will be published in the Forum for Social Economics. He wrote the paper with Josh Pitts.

A special congratulations to the faculty awarded promotions and tenure positions:

Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

Marsha Eifert-Mangine, Ed.D., Division of Health Sciences, Department of Physical Therapy

Jill Russell, Ph.D., Division of Behavioral and Natural Sciences, Department of Biology

Drew Shannon, Ph.D., Division of Arts and Humanities, Department of English and Modern Language

Nancy Waldeck, Ph.D., Division of Business, Department of Business Administration


See All


See All